Logan

MapHead Chapter One Blog Entry

My name is Logan H. and I am in the 9th grade. Before I moved here I lived in Aldie, Virginia. I have visited Cancun, Mexico, Florida, New York, South Carolina, Maryland, and the Dominican Republic. I grew up in Aldie, Virginia and I moved here when I was entering the 6th grade.

In chapter one of the book Maphead the author, Ken Jennings, finds his atlas from his childhood and remembers his great love of maps. “I wasn’t expecting the Proustian thrill I experienced as I pulled out the huge green book from the bottom of the box.”(Jennings 16) As he remembers his love of maps he talks about the “blank places”(Jennings 20) on a map that he would want to go there for example Africa or Australia. Chapter one then explained how the book was going to show us what we loved about maps and what charms us about them. “There must be something innate about maps, about this one specific way of picturing our world and our relation to it, that charms us, calls to us, won’t let us look anywhere else in the room if there’s a map on the wall. I want to get to the bottom of what that is. I see a chance to explore one of the last remaining blank spaces available to us amateur geographers and cartographers: the mystery of what makes our consuming map obsession tick. I will go there.” (Jennings 26)

The first chapter of MapHead was interesting to me because he knew one of the ways kids learn way places are on a map. “… the inevitable map on their schoolroom wall served the same purpose: something to look at when a dull monologue on fractions or Johnny Tremain started to turn into wordless wah-wah drone of the teacher from a Peanuts TV special.” (Jennings 24) In addition I thought the last line of the first chapter “I will go there” (Jennings 26) draws you in and makes you want to read the rest of the book. I think the audience would appreciate this book because each chapter is very different so everyone has something that draws them in and makes them want to keep reading.

 

2 thoughts on “Logan

  1. I really like your blogpost, it is very interesting. I can really relate to what you wrote because I too, study and look at maps in class when I’m bored. I really like the way you chose the perfect quotes from the book to emphasize and show your point. You did a really good job.

    Like

  2. Nice summary Logan! I really think the quotes you chose and the summary fit together perfectly! You really got the point across that Jennings enjoyed to look at maps! One question it have for you is how was your stay in The Dominican Republic? Great summary!

    Like

Leave a Reply

