Eccentricity by Randy Rushing

Hi! I’m Randy a freshman at Lake Travis. Throughout my life I have traveled to many places with my friends and family. I have traveled to places such as The Bahamas, Cozumel, and Yosemite National Park. I have climbed up the half dome as well. I plan on traveling to New York City in one month. But I have lived in Texas all my life. I was born in Houston and moved to Austin shortly after.

 

My chapter that I was assigned for the Maphead project was Chapter 1, or Eccentricity. To open up the chapter Jennings states his love for maps and geography at a young age, “ The box was like an archaeological dig of my childhood… a copy of Hammond’s Medallion World Atlas from 1979.” (p.1). Then Jennings continues to tell the readers fun facts about geography that you would never know unless you studied as intensely as he did. “ Weirton, West Virginia ( the only town in the United States that borders two different states on opposite sides).”(p.2). On page five Jennings mentions territories and states that look oddly similar but are miles apart he states they were “separated at birth”. He continues to tell us throughout the chapter about old maps and new maps and all sorts fun facts that you would once again never know unless you studied as intensely as he did, but yet again, we will be.

I liked this book because it helped inform me more about maps and different types of geography. I especially liked this chapter because I felt that the author welcomed the reader in a fun way. Because whenever you pick up a book called Maphead it can seem a bit intimidating, but the way he wrote it was worded very nicely.

3 thoughts on “Eccentricity by Randy Rushing

  1. The way summarized the chapter was great and the quotes helped add meaning to your observations. Some of the things you noticed, such as Weir-ton, West Virginia, you then connected to the footnotes and reminded us of why it’s important. l can tell that you read the chapter and enjoyed the humorous approach Jennings used to draw the reader in as much as l did. Just one question, do you think the chapter’s title was related enough to make sense for this specific chapter? And why do you think Jennings chose this specific term to represent the text that follows?

    Like

Leave a Reply

