Maphead: Chapter 10 Review- Ethan Bernick

My name is Ethan B. I am a freshmen this year at LTHS. I have lived in Texas all my life but my heart lies all around the globe in places I haven’t visited, with people I have yet to meet, and with food I have yet to eat. I would love to learn another language but haven’t mastered any. I am a gardener, beekeeper, and musician. I love meeting new people and spreading smiles by planting sunflowers in public areas.

Chapter ten was about the new hobby spreading around the world like wild fire. Geocaching. The GPS centered game taps “into something primal…[the] neglected part of our hunter-gatherer hindbrain that needs to look for elusive things and rarely gets the chance to in a modern world…” (189). The idea of geocaching was formed in May of 2000 when a single cache was hidden and the coordinates were posted on a site for GPS users. More and more people took to the woods to hide caches and  “On March 8, 2010, the geocache count on it’s website hit one million.” (191)

I think that this chapter was well written. I went from not knowing what a Geocache was, to knowing all about the hobby. I was caught of guard when I downloaded the Geocache app and discovered that there are fourteen caches within biking distance of my house. This hobby really is catching on! I found it interesting at first that full grown adults dedicated hours to finding trinkets in boxes but when I read the line from the book (in quotations above) about the game appealing to the hunter-gatherer sense that we all have, everything made sense. I am tempted to go searching for these nearby caches I spoke of earlier to see if you do get a sense of accomplishment by signing your name on a notecard you might have walked by one hundred times without noticing.

image

7 thoughts on “Maphead: Chapter 10 Review- Ethan Bernick

  1. I totally agree with your post! After reading chapter 10, I was intrigued by geocaching and also looked up local caches. I liked how you noted the hunter-gatherer sense that people have and how geocaching is a hobby for everyone. Those were both important and unique points.

    Like

  2. I really liked your post about geocaching and agree with you about geocaching. after reading the chapter I wanted to go find caches hidden in my neighborhood too. Do you think geocaching is an activity or hobby you will start participating in?

    Like

  3. I thought your blog post was an intriguing one, I would definitely want to try this hobby sometime. I think its really cool that you want to travel to places you haven’t seen yet, I think it is a good idea to set that goal out for yourself because you will meet new people and friends. I think the quote you shared about that we don’t use the “hunter-gatherer hindbrain” as much and that geocaching will help that part of the brain to function is very interesting, I didn’t really know anything about that until this book. Wow i cant even believe that the geocache hit one million! I have one question, if you were to start this hobby, where do you think you will start?

    Like

  4. I too wrote a review on this chapter, and I love your post! You went into great detail about the sense of accomplishment geocachers feel once they find the cache, and that is something I didn’t consider quite as much when writing my review. After reading this chapter, I also became very intrigued with geocaching, and I hope to go geocaching very soon. I also love your views on traveling, and I can tell you plan to discover great things all around the globe one day. Great job on this review!

    Like

  5. Ethan, I really enjoyed your blog. I feel you covered the most important parts of the chapter. I also had never heard of geocaching and never realized how popular it is! You said you do not know any foreign languages but that you would like to learn a few, is Spanish on the list of languages you potentially want to learn?

    Like

  6. Ethan, I really enjoyed reading your blog post. I did a post on the same chapter and I think you covered all the major points of this chapter! This chapter has gotten me interested in geocaching and I also was caught off guard when I realized that there were so many caches hidden across the globe. A question I have for you is if you could hide a cache anywhere in the world for people to find, where would you hide it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

